Rooting Your Android Box

There have been some comments in other sections recently about rooting of android boxes. If one of our experts could provide a post on advantages, disadvantages, proper rooting procedures, etc. it would be helpful. Thanks.

5 Likes

I’m not a expert but basically rooting your device gives you root access to the device you are rooting. Allowing you to do things the manufacturer won’t allow you to do or to take off stupid stuff you would never be allowed to.

It bypasses what the manufacturer has done to let’s say a Samsung phone, you will be able to customize it the way you want, install what you want and remove what you want. It allows for access to better control of the hardware specs to increase battery life software health and custom roms (themes and such)

Same applies to an andriod box, you can increase cpu speed and priority, increase ram usage and take off on running things that use your ram. Take off system installed background service you don’t need running. You can upgrade your android os to the newest specs without manufacturer interference.

If you can do it successfully on a device do it.

But