Surfshark VPN Slowing Wi-Fi connection

Well… after trying the new No.1 of VPN’s, I was hoping that it wouldn’t “again” slow my internet connection down whilst trying to stream from my tv, as well as with my phone’s browser. But yet again, sadly “again” for the second time of returning to Surfshark, by constantly toggling my phones VPN options toggle back on automatically, when I wanted to turn it off. But anything that I’d tried to watch ended up buffering or wouldn’t work at all.

Does anyone know as what the issue is at all, in relation with my above situation?. As I’m still stuck back in the Bronze Age with a standard Amazon Firestick. Many thanks in advance to anyone that can give me a idea of what’s going on with it please.

1 Like

I switched from IPVanish to SurfShark this week, so far have not had those issues.

2 Likes

I have been using Surfshark for about 6 months. I have not seen any performance issues with Surfshark. I actually have 3 different VPN’s that I can switch between, so I can test and troubleshoot issues. I also have multiple devices running so I can have all 3 VPN’s running at the same time. Only one VPN running at a time on each device.

2 Likes

Hello @Auti_Laugh79 please keep in mind that all VPNs will slow down your speed somewhat as your traffic is getting routed through another server plus encryption is being applied.

Have you tried changing protocols?

I would also suggest rebooting your router, cable modem, and Firestick.

See this video for complete setup guide - https://troypoint.com/install-vpn-on-fire-tv-stick/#Surfshark_on_Firestick_Video_Guide

2 Likes

You said “again” and “return” to Surfshark. What VPN were you using in between? How was it working for you?