VPN IPVanish vs Proton

I have a subscription to IPVanish but occasionally had problems although over all I like the product, the subscription ends near end of 2023.
The other day I connected to Proton VPN which I had used occasionally in the past with mix results.
Much to my surprise I have found Proton VPN out performing IPVanish on a pretty consistent basis. I have a 200 Mbps connection the speed tests to about 240 or so on both my fire sticks and Onn 4k Chromecast clone and any time I connect the VPN I speed test, on Fire stick using the built-in test and Analiti on Android TV.
I just ran both for this post and IPVanish (using wireguard) 61 Mbps (connected to fastest available in my case Chicago) and Proton VPN in this case connected to the US and got 97 Mbps.
Just as a note I got 57Mpbs using IPVanish and IKE.
Now I understand that speeds can change with any connection, re-connections, time of day, between test even minutes apart but I have seen Proton VPN out performing on a pretty consistent basis.
This wasn’t true in the past as I remember so I posted this because it is interesting! Oh, another interesting thing is Proton VPN often recommends Netherlands as a server and I get similar results with that connection as well.

2 Likes

I believe Proton is still good for USTVGO, also.

1 Like

Proton does have “speedup” coding. I have had it for over 6 months and because of the speeds I bought a 2 yr sub. Big mistake. The app, by their own admission, is not designed or meant for streaming devices and it isn’t something they intend on fixing. My bad for not doing better research. Tons of settings and setup options on a phone or computer but are not available on say a 4k max. Options like adware/malware blocking is not available. No way to access for tunneling etc. Troy did a review on Proton a while back and he didn’t like it.

1 Like

Thanks proton has a strict no logs policy Thanks for info I will keep that in mind.

Analiti ipvanish on protocol=(IKEV2)