Pairing a different remote on the Nvidia Shield

This may be a simple question, but…

I am a newbie on the Nvidia Shield Pro. It appears that I am not a big fan of the remote. The triangle shape is a bit awkward in my hand and the buttons line up in a vertical manner seems to throw me off. (We won’t talk about the N-flux button as that is covered in another post). Don’t get me wrong as the Shield remote feels solidly built and I do like that it lights up. That worked so that I could see which button I needed to push since my muscle memory wasn’t programmed into my brain, yet. Anyway…

If someone could post a method for running (setting up) another remote for the Shield it would be appreciated. I understand that some folks have been using a Firestick remote to work with the Shield. I’m thinking that those universal remotes are just over-kill with a zillion buttons, at least in my simple mind. If you have a link to a youtube video would be great.

1 Like

Settings>Remotes & accessories>shield accessories>other Options>pair an accessory or click the quick guide option and read.
Don’t forget you can add a remote app onto your phone. I think @Powerfader has one he likes. I use a mini Keyboard that has a dongle plugged into one of the USB ports on my Shield Pro.

1 Like

I kinda knew that it would be too easy to do this but I wanted to add to the knowledge base here on the Advisor.

I just order the Rii MX3 Multifunction 2.4G Fly Mouse Mini Wireless Keyboard & Infrared Remote Control on Amazon. $13! I’ve learned that you get what you pay for but sometimes it turns out to be a surprise. This is way too many buttons for my simple mind but $13 prime I couldn’t pass it up.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01CL3ZXGO/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 Like

one of my fav remotes and cheap
onn. Universal TV and Streaming Remote - Walmart.com
onn. Universal TV and Streaming Remote - Walmart.com

2 Likes