Issues using VPN

Good morning all. I’m a newbie and not very tech savvy so please bear with me. I had been foolishly using crew and real debrid without a VPN for months. About a week ago none of the rd links play and returns with a message stating “no stream avail”. I decided to sign up for a VPN (surfshark) and now all my devices are incredibly slow. I have 1 gig fiber and when my VPN is turned on it runs slower than dial up service. I cannot even do a speed test as it just sits there and does nothing. Laptop, desktop and firestick just runs at a pace as if it’s slower than dial up. Again, I’m not tech savvy at all so please be understanding. Please help!

Hey @Greyson Open up SS & set up Fastest location…Nearest country (depending on where you are…if in US probably not needed) & set your Protocols to Automatic…see what that does & let us know :cowboy_hat_face:

2 Likes

May have some insite on protocols here.

1 Like

Same results. I tried a speedtest and it stated " Test cannot be completed due to problem with the network". I’ve tried several different locations within the US and outside all with the same results. I have to log out of the VPN just to come to this page and post. Some websites will load up at incredibly slow speeds while others won’t even load. Would canceling surfshark and going with another be a better fix?

Are you using the app or router?

OK…sounds like there may have been some kind of software conflict when it was downloaded & set up. Might be time to start all over…uninstall the SS app & download it from Playstore or Amazon…not sure what kind of device you have…sign in…check what I previously mentioned & do a speed test with it off then with it on…& we’ll go from there. Also, after you’ve downloaded it…reboot your router & device before you take tests.

From his “not very tech savvy” line…I’m assuming he’s just using the app… :thinking: